The story

I started this blog to demonstrate blogging for students in a social media marketing class. Now the class is over,  but I still have this blog.  Turns out, I kind of like blogging–though I’m still a little surprised when people who aren’t my students read or respond to a post. The problem with blogging, though, is that you have to have something to say.

Do I?

When I was in high school, I was part of a one-act play competition. To prepare for performances, our director would have each member of the company, crew included, introduce himself or herself and say the magic words, “I have a story to tell.”

That sentence has a permanent place in my memory. Every time I consider writing something nonacademic (which I do consider on occasion), the sentence replays as a question: Do I have a story to tell?  To my dismay, most of the time, I don’t.

Again, with the blog, the sentence is playing.  Do I have a story to tell? Now that social media marketing is over, what is the story of this blog?

The story isn’t the same thing as the purpose. As a rhetorician teaching business communication, I have to be very conscious of my audience and my purpose every time I write or speak in my academic role.  I’m conscious, for instance, that the audience and purpose of this blog are currently unclear. That kind of bugs me, but I’m trying to be okay with it emerging over time. But the story…how to explain it?

I guess you could say it’s the story of my evolution as a writer, speaker, and teacher.  And as a thinker, too.   If, as Robert Scott argues, rhetoric is an active creation of ideas–and I do think it is–then this blog is a story about writing my professional story, because I’m creating it by telling it.

Scott, Robert. (1967). On viewing rhetoric as epistemic, Central States Speech Journal 18, pp. 9-16.

What are your thoughts?

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

